Larry Ullman's Book Forums

Sql Stored Procedures And Phpmyadmin

Hi Larry,

Thanks very much for writing this book. I have come a bit unstuck and really hope you can help me!!

1) In the book you say that all the SQL commands can be downloaded. I can't seem to find them anywhere? Are they within the zip files?

2) My biggie question: I have been working perfectly up until the 'stored procedures' section (an area I see a few others have struggled with too). I use the justhost C-Panel which has PhpMyadmin for all the mysql database work. I cannot seem to create or work with the stored procedures on here. When I googled it, it said that essentially PhpMyadmin doesn't support this functionality. Can you make any suggestions as to how I could get this to work? One thought was to create a php function instead but I'm not sure entirely how that would work! Is there an alternative method?

I would say I am still fairly new to Php and web design but I do have a reasonable understanding and feel that essentially I could successfully complete this book. Stored Procedures is something I have never encountered before so if you can help me I would be extremely grateful. Apologies if I'm asking thats already been asked but I thought best to put my question in my own words.

I very much look forward to your reply.

Happy new year!!

Lew

Thanks Jonathon. It's great to know that this is possible. Could you elaborate on how I would do this please? Do I need to create a .sql file myself in my text editor with these procedures in order to be able to call them? What I mean is, if I use the .sql file and execute the query using a php command should this work if I include the sql page? Having had a peak at the zip file, it would seem this is the case. I saw an 'include (mysql)' command on the shop page. What specifically does this command refer to? Thanks for your help and for helping me learn this stuff!! Lew