Larry Ullman's Book Forums

Hello,

I am a complete newbie in the programming world. I have enjoyed the book but I really wish it provided guidence with the pursue questions. I find them extremely frustrating and have constantly had to search the forum for help.

I am currently stumped on the chpt 11 pursue question where it asks to change add_quote.php to separate the quote and attribute inputs, write them separately to a file and then modify view_quote.php so it displays both pieces of data. I have separated the two quotes but I have no idea how to retrieve them together. I don't see where the book tells me how to do this. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

"Change add_quote.php so that it takes the quotation and the attribution as separate inputs and writes them separately to the text file."

I will be honest with you, I've just taken a look myself but i have no idea what the attribution part of data is you are meant to take, i only see the quote in the text area??

So you would start by creating two form inputs: one for the attribution (the person whose quote it is) and another for the quote itself. Then you'd want to store this in a text file on a single line (i.e., as a single record), using some sort of unique demarcation character. I *believe* the book discusses that concept. Then the script that displays the quotes would read in the line, divide the record on that demarcation character, and be able to display the quote and the attribution separately.

• Upvote 1

Larry, I really appreciate you writing back. I understand conceptually what you are saying but I am still stumped. I've reread the chapter, scaned the book and tried using google for a a more precise answer as to how to implement the solution. If possible, can you spell it out for me or perhaps point me to the chapter where I am going to find the info I need. Thank you very much.