Larry Ullman's Book Forums

Mysql Syntax

Hi,

I am studying the book "effortless e commerce." There are a couple of lines I don't understand.

UNIQUE KEY category (category)

KEY user_id (user_id)

Why are they writing the same name twice? and What's the "KEY"? I only know PRIMARY KEY() and UNIQUE() from the book "PHP6 and MYSQL 5"

For example, PRIMARY KEY(id) means id is a primary key to that column. And if you put UNIQUE (username) means username can not be duplicated.

I don't understand these UNIQUE KEY category (category) and KEY user_id (user_id)...

Thanks for your help in advance and look forward to hearing from you soon.

UNIQUE KEY category (category)

KEY user_id (user_id)

Why are they writing the same name twice?

The first occurrence is just the index name. You could write UNIQUE KEY some_other_name (category) if it's clearer for you. I've often seen index names such as category_unq or user_id_pk or some other other suffix that makes it immediately clear what kind of index it is.

• Upvote 1

This is an interesting question (and one I have always wondered about). After a fair amount of research (and learning on my own part), I can conclude the following:

KEY and INDEX are the same meaning (as are UNIQUE KEY and UNIQUE INDEX). With that said, INDEX seems to be the more "proper" term, although they're the same, and I hear "primary key" all the time, but never "primary index". (Maybe it's a MySQL thing.)

Anyway, an INDEX/KEY creates a separate copy of the table with the column or columns that are marked with INDEX/KEY. The column is then reorganized (at least, with a typical non-clustered index) to make it easier/faster to search through for information.

To summarize, INDEX/KEY make a database faster to search through, but slower to insert data into and larger in size.