Larry Ullman's Book Forums

Hi Larry,

Just want to know if it is possible to make the top column links sort data ascending as well as descending with php as discussed in chapter 10 - and what code do I need to change?

Thank you.

Apache 2.2.21

PHP 5.3.8

MySQL 5.0.8

I seem to recall Larry talking about this in the 3rd edition of this book, but it seems like he doesn't in this book.

Anyway, you can pretty easily alternate between ascending and descending order by expanding the switch statement on page 324 and then taking that into account for step 5 on page 326.

For example, if the user clicks on the First Name column, then when you write the HTML for the table header links, instead of writing "sort=fn" for the First Name column, you should write something like "sort=rfn".

Does that make sense?

• Upvote 1

Thank you for your reply Hartley. I'm still new at coding so it's more 'cut-and-past' for me than anything else. I tried to change the switch statement and HTML as you suggested without any success. I also had a look at the book's 3rd edition but couldn't find anything to help me. Can you be more specific about the expansion of the switch statement and changes to the HTML code?

I can't be more specific because after buying the 4th edition, I gave my 3rd edition away to a friend. Besides, I was purely going off memory, but the 3rd edition is actually the one I went through myself and I seemed to recall being able to reverse the order of the columns with the code in that book.

Anyway, when I have some time later, I'll provide some more details about how to modify the code in the 4th edition to get what you want.

Please be patient. Thank you.

Okay, I can respond now.