Larry Ullman's Book Forums

Am I Using The Correct Book

Hi

I'm pretty competent with HTML and CSS and needed my next step to be to create a dynamic site. I therefore bought this book. However, I've come unstuck already with the Apache server.

I've never worked with Web server applications before, so don't understand the terminology and don't quite know what to do with it now it's downloaded. I've been on the Apache site but am now more confused than before. So am thinking that I should start with the quick start guide book instead.

Before I rush off to Amazon to buy the quick start book please could you confirm that it will give me a step by step intro into setting up and using a Web server application from a real beginners point of view.

BTW I have tested the server by keying http:/localhost into my browser and I'm getting the "it works" message. So It's loaded correctly but when I key key in the extension /first.php I'm getting 'the webpage cannot be found' error message so now I'm stuck!

Thanks for your help

Deb P

I can't help you with Apache, but someone else will, but in case you haven't considered, you can run your site on a real webhost. That's what I do. It's a little more work and trouble to transfer your files each time you want to test but for me it's worth it, not having to install a server on my older computer. It will probably cost you a little money also but if you take your site live you will have to spend it then anyway.

• Upvote 1

Don't worry, Deb, you shouldn't have to worry about Apache to start with the book, and I don't think using the QuickStart Guide will make any difference on that subject.

How did you install your local server? Did you use a package such as XAMPP or MAMP?

Also, you should read the forum rules and add the requisite information to your signature: every time you ask a question on this forum, people will need to have precise information about the different versions you are using in order to help you.