Larry Ullman's Book Forums

Moving On From Website Development, Can Php Still Be Used?

Jason

After many years of Website Development I've grown to, not like it as much as I used to. I love programming though. Client work, along with recent technological developments have made me realise that I just don't have the enthusiasm for it I once did. So rather than being a negative "old man" telling kids to get off my lawn, I'm moving on.

Primarily I'm a PHP web developer with a focus on Content Management Systems. It's been my focus since 2005. I know PHP can be used to develop more specific Web applications but of course that's still in the browser. I'd like to move away from the browser window if I can. Does anyone work with PHP for things other than Websites? or even Web applications?

If I can't salvage my PHP knowledge I'm happy to let go and learn a new language such as Java, I already know ActionScript but career prospects and work is low for that where I am, unless it's a flash banner.

Anyone else considered a life of programming outside of the website development world?

Hey Jason,

Thanks for the question and sorry to hear about all those lousy kids on your lawn. My personal inclination is not to use PHP for much outside of the Web browser. PHP was created as a Web development language, and that's really where it excels. For anything else you might do, there is undoubtedly a language or technology that's better suited. Occasionally I might create a command-line script using PHP (like if it ties into functionality needed by a PHP-based Web page), but I think pretty quickly taking a language out of its original intention starts to become like using a screwdriver as a hammer.